I Love DISCOUNTS! How I Save Money Buying All The Gear I Want

26 10 2009

Last week I stayed home sick for a day and spent most of it perusing the wide web of the world. At some point I came across an online snowboard store (snow24.de) run by some dudes right down the street from me. It didn’t take long to find Anon Convict sunglasses for a mere 36 euros. I ordered.

I went to the outlet on Saturday to pick up my new fancy shades and had a great time checking out the cheap gear and a really hard time keeping myself from buying it all. I did however find a sweet Burton backpack with laptop pocket (and a thousand others), headphone jack in the shoulder-strap, and a bunch of incredibly useful pockets for a travel bag. On may last scan of the store I spotted some gloves which just looked so funky I had to buy them. Foursquare gloves for 25 Euros?!?

So the bill was 96 Euros for:
– Anon Convict sunglasses
– Burton Fader backpack
– Foursquare NSEW gloves

They may be last years models, but they’re still waterproof, they’re still stylin’, and they were cheaper than a single item from this years line!

After dropping off my new gear at home I picked up a bunch of plastic bottles from the kitchen (approx. 40) and brought them to my local supermarket. In Germany (where I’m currently located) you get refunds for returning bottles and cans (7 – 25 Cents). This alone gave me 7€ to use for my grocery shopping. As I paid for my food and wine, I received a 5€ coupon for buying over 50€ of food.

So all in all I technically got
– a 12€ discount on my food and drink (24% off)
– an 90€ discount on sunglasses (70% off)
– a 40€ discount on a backpack (50% off)
– a 15€ discount on gloves (37% off)

That’s 157€ I saved which I can use for 1 or 2 round-trips (depending on booking time and oil-price) to Zürich (my gateway to Laax, CH).

If you have any of your own tips on saving money on snowboard gear, travel, or anything else, please leave a comment below!


Actions

Information

One response

24 05 2010
Gorpskaboorry

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian

Leave a Reply

