“I’m taking my goggles and going to the beach”

5 07 2009

I’m jammin’ to Bob Marley, it’s 29°C inside (for the Fahrenheiters: that’s too warm for indoors), the windows are wide open, plants are growing at rapid speed, the sun is shining, and I feel like I’m holiday. The only thing that’s missing is an ocean washing up softly in front of my apartment and beautiful women meandering across the hot sand of a Mediterranean beach. Oh, and the holiday is missing.

It’s a sunny Sunday and I feel like a marshmallow about to turn smore. Every time I sit back and consider doing something I wish I was in Switzerland with my boys and girls, hanging like sloths in the garden, playing a set of badminton, garden golf, or taking pictures of things we’ve taken pictures of every day of every summer for the past few years.

It’s become a tradition – ‘barbecue at Kris’ house’. They typically start with a private skate sesh around 2ish (depending on hangover and heat). Skate til 4ish. Go to local butcher and buy 3 to 6 kg of fresh meat plus potato salad, bread, lettuce, Bruno’s Best Salad Sauce (the best sauce in the world). Go home, fill fridge with beer, tell the boys and girls the doors are open and the food is waiting.

What ensues is many hours of eating delicious grilled meats, many more hours of drinking, music, laughter, love, and plain old good times.

What follows is typically a disastrous hangover, but it’s all worth it. We repeat when the hangover is cured.

Unfortunately my buddies are currently scattered across the planet like Parmesan on pasta. Two are road-tripping through Africa, a few are finishing Uni in UK, one is snowboarding in Chile (lucky bastard), and some are actually in Switzerland – but I’m not.

But come August, there will be barbecues galore, summer snowboarding in Saas Fee, skating with the homies, photos and photos and photos and more photos, and muchos more.

…and in the meantime, I’m taking my goggles and going to the beach. By goggles I most definitely mean snowboard goggles. What else were you thinking?

Played while posting this post:
Bob Marley & The Wailers – The Heathen
Bob Marley & The Wailers – War / No More Trouble
Bob Marley & The Wailers – Rebel Music
Bob Marley & The Wailers – Lively Up Yourself
Bob Marley & The Wailers – Jammin’

You can find more funky tunes in our Playlists section on bonksnow.com.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

