Design-A-Week 23: Creative Block

18 06 2009

After looking for inspirational images across the world wide web I stumbled upon a fantastic piece which was incredibly simple yet very vibrant. I had made something similar with a black background in Week 17: Puzzle Bubble Meets Condensation. The problem was I wanted a white background and a slightly different setup. I tried and tried but always had weird matte colors without any depth, no color burn (which was the main goal), and little order amongst my colorful dots. So I made a half-hearted attempt at using dimensions to add some ‘pizzaz’, but with little success. I finally decided I could only continue by starting all over and destroying my previous attempt. To do this, I combined all the layers and just painted right over all my work.

…And when I saw how simple and plain it looked, I was somehow satisfied. So in the motto of ‘less is more’, I post you a green background with white painted text. Voila.

I kindly request checking out the rest of the Design-A-Week project over at bonksnow.com!

Played while posting this post:
The Apples In Stereo – Other
Death Cab For Cutie – My Mirror Speaks
Grizzly Bear – Two Weeks
Animal Collective – Summertime Clothes
Animal Collective – Derek

You can find more funky tunes in our Playlists section on bonksnow.com.

After looking for inspirational images across the world wide web I stumbled upon a fantastic piece which was incredibly simple yet very vibrant. I had made something similar with a black background in Week 17: Puzzle Bubble Meets Condensation. The problem was I wanted a white background and a slightly different setup. I tried and tried but always had wierd matt colors without any depth, no color burn (which was the main goal), and little order amongst my colorful dots. So I made a half hearted attempt at using dimensions to add some ‘pizzaz’, but with little success. I finally decided I could only continue by starting all over and destroying my previous attempt. To do this, I combined all the layers and just painted right over all my work.

And when I saw how simple and plain it looked, I was somehow satisfied. So in the motto of ‘less is more’, I post you a green background with white painted text. Voila.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

